Finding the Right People to Talk to

10/08/2018

The debate surrounding mental health and assisted suicide is a very sensitive subject.

To ensure that my feature remains unbiased and tells both parts of the argument, I need to make sure I'm talking to the right people.

I primarily want to talk to those who have directly been involved with this topic. Whether that's healthcare professionals, campaign advocates or individuals who's family members have used assisted suicide as a means to end their life.

What I have found whilst trying to interview people is their misunderstanding of the subject. Most people that I have contacted hadn't been aware that assisted suicide for those with severe mental health issues is an option in some countries. When people discuss assisted suicide or euthanasia, those with terminal illnesses are normally at the centre of the debate. People don't tend to account for those campaigning with mental health issues.


Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started